Inside the music: Dig

Paula writes:

Joe has kind of taken over the posting lately because typing is a challenge since the surgery. But here goes.

“Dig” is an awesome song by Incubus. Fair warning though, it might get stuck in your head.

We all have a weakness
Some of ours are easy to identify
Look me in the eye, and ask for forgiveness
We’ll make a pact to never speak that word again
Yes, you are my friend
We all have something that digs at us,
At least we dig each other

So when weakness turns my ego up
I know you’ll count on the me from yesterday
If I turn into another
Dig me up from under what is covering
The better part of me
Sing this song
Remind me that we’ll always have each other
When everything else is gone

We all have a sickness
That cleverly attaches and multiplies
No matter how we try
We all have someone that digs at us,
At least we dig each other

So when sickness turns my ego up
I know you’ll act as a clever medicine
If I turn into another
Dig me up from under what is covering
The better part of me
Sing this song
Remind me that we’ll always have each other
When everything else is gone
Each other when everything else is gone

If I turn into another
Dig me up from under what is covering
The better part of me
Sing this song
Remind me that we’ll always have each other,
When everything else is gone
Each other

This song is just an great reminder that no matter how much the world is getting on our nerves we always have each other. Having each other to lean on gives us the strength we need to get through the tough times.

It is also a reminder of something that all couples should think about. When you know someone as well as you know your life partner, you know all of their buttons(“we all have something that digs at us”) and exactly how to push them. But loving someone comes with the responsibility not to push those buttons. If we fight we have to remember it is our job to protect our partner and our relationship. We shouldn’t try to win the argument at all costs by resorting to pushing our loved ones buttons. Make the discussion about the issue, not about each other.

Hmmm… sorry about the rant. It’s late.

Anyway, great song.

1 Response to “Inside the music: Dig”


  1. 1 Judy June 5, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    Good advice. Great song…


Leave a Reply

RSVP, if you please:

Click here to RSVP for the big day!
June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

